Visitor

Ok, so, there’s a young raccoon in the barn.

A couple of days ago I saw it peeking out of a hole in the wall up on the fourth floor of the barn. No idea how it got inside. At the time I tied the back door open to see if it would leave. Apparently, it didn’t.

Tonight I went to feed the barn kitties and found the water pail tipped over, the cat food container off the barrel and opened, and the cat’s water dish full of dirty water… a sure sign a raccoon has been mucking about. The bag of crunchits to feed the birds was eaten, and there was water all over the floor. Kira Kitty met me with a hugely fluffed up tail, and Lasha Kitty was stalking about the place looking quite wary.

I’m not sure where the raccoon has gone. I closed the door the where I store the bags of shavings, because that seems to be the only possible way to get from up in the barn down to the stable. If the water dish is fine tomorrow I’ll know the raccoon isn’t hiding somewhere in the stable, and then I will set out a live trap to finally capture the cheeky git and remove him/her from the barn. If the water dish is muddied again, then I will need to cage the cats and set the trap in the stable.

The cats are actually used to seeing a raccoon because of Chance. But Chance had a caged area of the barn. This one could fight with them if he/she was of a mind to get snippy. I hope they give it a wide berth.

About Tallulah

Writer, Photographer, Artist. Animal Welfare Advocate. Wildlife and Environmental Advocate.
This entry was posted in Pets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

