First Post

I am a long-time Tabulas user. Recently the new owner of Tabulas decided to shut it down. So now I am here.

Not a very auspicious first post.

Today I found myself missing my Tabulas blog as I really needed a place to write. It has been one of those weeks… the kind of week where you just want to crawl back into bed, pull the sheets over your head, and wait for it all to be over.

I won’t go into details. Why? Because I would sound like an ungrateful, whinging bitch.

Ok, maybe I’ll go into detail, at another time. For now I have some advice to impart.

You’ve probably heard these before: Good things come to those who wait; patience is a virtue; the law of attraction; if you focus on what you want you will make it happen… there are a million pithy words of wisdom floating around out there.

None of it is true. What these things are: ways to placate people, to keep them working even when they see everyone else passing them by, and to keep them from throwing themselves off the cliff and ending it all.

Don’t believe it. If you want something to happen, you have to put work into it to make it happen. And even after doing that, it still might not happen. If you do nothing, nothing will happen. Waiting for that good thing will just leave you sitting alone at the end of the day, still waiting.

Not sure if it’s evident, but I’m not in a good place at the moment. In fact, I may delete this post tomorrow. But for now, it is what it is.

For now I am at the edge, holding on.

 

About Tallulah

Writer, Photographer, Artist. Animal Welfare Advocate. Wildlife and Environmental Advocate.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

